12 Ways to Maintain the Christmas Spirit AFTER Christmas (6)

Over the holiday season, a few bloggers and I discussed how easily people slip into the “giving” spirit when mid-November rolls around. And then *poof* Just like that, people tend to slip right out of it when January appears. It got me thinking. How can we maintain this energy year-round?

Initially, I’d planned to “experiment” with different ways and then write this at the end of the year. But I figured some people might want to try with me, so instead, I’ll update and re-blog the post every four weeks.

no_6Soooo…one day I looked up at it was July 25th aaannnd I hadn’t maintained the Christmas Spirit for that month! Turns out the summer is the time when I’m most forgetful about these things cause I’m out frolicking and stuff.

Anywho, check back in September for an update on my August activities. Have you been maintaining the Christmas spirit AFTER Christmas? If so, let me know how. I might be able to participate in an idea for one of the remaining months.

Check out ways 1-5 here.

40 thoughts on “12 Ways to Maintain the Christmas Spirit AFTER Christmas (6)

  1. Lady G said she was the “WP compliance officer”!😂 For real, though – Summer IS for “being out frolicking and stuff!” so I’m glad you got some in coz we’re moving into a new season, now…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love you and thus I love your spirit and your commitment. However!
    Do you really need to remind me Christmas is around the corner?!?! In 4 months, the next Christmas will be over. Aaaaaaaaaarch, time does go to fast…
    ( just teasing, I hope you know 😉 XxX )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It sounds good to be out frolicking! 😀😀 Although we are still having beautifully warm sunny days I know once September arrives that Christmas seems just around the corner and arrives like a juggernaut without breaks!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Every year during the holiday season my church has the “Giving Tree,” a pathetic little Christmas tree we all hang hats, mittens, scarves and the like on to be given to people visiting the food pantry. Since I knit, I usually have something to donate…but I’m determined not to gather up “leftover” projects (don’t get me wrong, they’re nice, just no guarantee I’ll have anything) and instead I knit things especially to give away. So about every two months or so I finish another few projects and put them in the “Giving Basket,” which sits in my closet, and in December I’ll have a big bagful of hats etc. Since the need for this clothing in my area generally starts in December, the timing works.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love how these pop up every month as a little reminder to keep the Christmas spirit going all year long, and provide insight or ideas of how to do that. It’s easy to forget, or just let it slide. It doesn’t have to be grand or complicated… often I just donate food to the Little Free Pantry or send an out-of-the-blue care package to a faraway friend who needs some TLC. Once, I paid a kid’s fine for overdue library books–he couldn’t take out any more until it was settled, so it made him really happy. Lots of opportunities to share, just gotta keep your eyes open. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gorgeous, Kathy! I love that you remembered & posted now … that is so self-honoring and your commitment to kindness and the Christmas Spirit is great and puts a big smile on my face.

    I do my best to speak kindness to people….. to bring blessings wherever I go …. and to forgive myself as a way to be in peace inside of me.

    You mentioned how you could contribute. Well, I do a Forgiving Fridays post every Friday. If you ever want to, you can contribute a post for Forgiving Fridays! (See my latest post for more information). Let me know if you have questions. I love you!

    Love and blessings, Debbie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Debbie! You know the first step to living an honest life is to be honest with oneself. I definitely want people to know that I am not perfect and also human lol Thanks for noticing that.

      Speaking kindness to people is a great idea. That is one of the most integral ways to maintain the “Christmas spirit.”

      I will definitely add contributing to Forgiving Fridays to my list. I think it’ll be a good way to contribute and maintain the spirit at the same time.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. You are so generous! Just reading your post encourages me to reflect on being more formal in my giving throughout the year. And when I say formal – I mean each month on the 25 (today!) I will dedicate a kindness in the name of Christmas. Hmmmmm. 8 more hours to go….. what goodness can I get up to.. 🎁 ♥️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. My daughters elementary school used to bring care bags to a homeless shelter. They usually put in socks, toothpaste, gloves, hand sanitizer, things like that. You could also do school supplies….donate paper or ink to a school. Most of them lack those particular supplies. Walk dogs at a shelter. Give blood if you are able.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks my dear! I did the homeless bag idea a couple months ago. I think donating to a school is a great idea…will try that soon. I looked into volunteering with the Jacksonville Humane Society, but you wouldn’t believe how difficult it is, AND they ask for a six month commitment EVERY Saturday morning! Anywho, I’ll let you know how donating to a school goes and thanks again for the suggestion.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know I saw the goodie bags, knew you did it, but then I just started writing things my family did…..talk about a senior moment…..volunteering is hard here too! We have to sign up at least a month in advance for the soup kitchen and pet shelter. I read about this organization that collects duffle bags for kids that are in foster care. Normally a foster kids belongings are put in a garbage bag. I also heard about people who knit blankets for people in shelters. Was thinking of doing that

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I don’t blame you Kathy – 24th was my birthday and clearly you were focusing you energy on that 😜

    I don’t do chtistmas and I maintain that position year round haha.

    What am I doing awake right now??? The buzz from being the first one here is gonna keep me up all night now. 😨

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcomed

