Inspiring Image #37: Chillin

chillin_optimized

52 thoughts on “Inspiring Image #37: Chillin

  1. Ah, this reminds me of the times my dad and uncles would sit around on the weekend playing card games and cutting up. Lol.
    I like how you captured everyone and the Civil Rights plaque in the back. Very powerful photo! Beautiful. 😊👍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I know right? On my mother’s side of the family, she had a group of male cousins and they used to PAR-TY girl. All I remember is them playing games, drinking, and singing Brick House in unison lol

      The Civil Rights plaque is so interestingly behind them because when I first took the picture, I didn’t even notice it…just them.

      And Thank You!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. So interesting to see how we all pick up on things differently. I also find your Civil Rights plaque as a perfect fit in your photo and imagined your composing of it with the gentlemen in the foreground. It was the next thing I saw after gazing at the men. And yet, you noticed it more afterwards. Funny how that happens sometimes. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. True true…I think it’s because of where I was “mentally” at the time. I just kept thinking how cool it was that they had the space and time to kinda chill out and do what they want in the middle of the day on a Tuesday in May (a mouthful I know) lol but that fascinated me so much that I didn’t even recognize their surroundings.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great composition, esp with the Civil Rights sign in the background. Wonder what’s going on, on the table? Maybe a card game? A petition being circulated? Great catch of a “slice of life.” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Joan! I think they were playing card or dice. What’s even more interesting is another blogger sent this to someone who’s famous for organizing sit-ins here (decades ago) and he (Rodney Hurst) bought the photo! This was one of the most organic examples of simply living life I’ve experienced…from taking the photo to sharing to selling 😉

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks! Absolutely real life (with help from a filter). If it does inspire you please share. I love when art inspires art. In fact, I have a post about that very topic coming soon.

      Like

      1. Hiya, ok, thanks again–just posted a flash fiction piece using your photo. PLEASE tell me if I failed to properly credit you.
        Also, sent the photo to Mr. Hurst, who helped organize the demonstration. He would like to buy a print of your photo.
        Best, Amy

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Whew! This is why we get along Mek…you get me. Seriously, I was trying to make sure I captured that plaque in the background and also I’m playing around with how to take candid pics. ’tis a lot harder than I thought.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. 😊 cool- you’re doing well- but you really need to do a humans of florida segment! I want to know these guys stories. I was half serious when I said you should pic a ‘kwote’ to share with your subjects and capture their response/thoughs/reactions…

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Haha. No you’re right, I worded it ambiguously when I’d said something like ‘throw a quote at them and see whst they say’ haha. After writing it, i thought it too funny to delete or reword haha. I had meant to clarify eventually but forgot – till now! 😊 ok, off to sleep. Have a lovely day x

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcomed

