Monday Notes: Writing Endeavors®

Recently, I began an editing service business called Writing Endeavors®. While I’m happy for you to procure my services, what follows isn’t necessarily about the business. It’s more about the process of actualizing dreams.

bradburyPeople ask me all the time how I do fill_in_the_blank. The answer is simple. I just do it. Take this business for example. Over the years, friends have asked me to edit work for them. There have been times when I decline and pass the work on to someone else. Sometimes I’ve edited for free. Other times, I’ve worked more like an independent contractor; we create an agreement and the person pays me.

As recently as February, I edited a first-time book for a friend’s son. Shortly after, a thought occurred. The urge to begin my own editing service business flashed in my mind. I needed to stop passing work to colleagues and friends and do it myself…for a fee.

The next step was to tell Dwight. Announcing my plans to him somehow solidifies things. He’s been with me long enough to know that once I say it, then it’s as good as done.

What happens next is what I’ve learned to be the difference between myself and other people. I typically research how to do things while I’m doing it. For example, I didn’t know if I should create a business first, or trademark a name first? Well, after working with Legal Zoom, I found out that you create the business first. So, I did that. The business was created March 21st.

Afterwards, I trademarked the business’s name. During that process, I learned the difference between the little TM symbol and the R in a circle sign. The first is something you can use, whether you registered the name or not. The latter means registered trademark and allows the owner to sue if someone else tries to use it.

More questions cropped up, as is common with on-the-job training.

Should I create a whole new website just for this business, separate from selling books and blogging? Should I pay for this website, or be comfortable with using an extension, like .wix? How about registering the business with the county? The state? The government? What’s required? When am I supposed to pay taxes on this business? I found all of that out…as…I…went…along.

img_3635In fact, I just started editing a client’s dissertation, while still in process of learning more business-related info.

I don’t want to paint an idyllic image. I’m not dancing through poppy fields while establishing a business. Functioning this way can sometimes be a tad stressful, like when the state notified me that I’d missed a deadline for reporting income, even though there was no income. But here’s the reality. I know that dreams might not materialize, unless I just begin. I know it’s important to just get going and trust that the rest will work itself out. I know this because it always does.

So, I have one question. What are you waiting for?

58 thoughts on “Monday Notes: Writing Endeavors®

  1. Thoughts for me to ponder. I want to pursue my dream…but I don’t know what my dream is. Or maybe something else is going on? I have a long drive planned this weekend, specifically to think about these things!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s perfectly okay Belinda! I remember watching a TEDTalk or Oprah thing (can’t remember which) where Elizabeth Gilbert apologizes for telling everyone to go find their passion. She said something about EVERYONE not having a passion, but maybe being more like a hummingbird. That might help you as you think 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I completely agree with that. I think we’ve done a lot of people a great disservice with the whole pursue your passion concept. It’s not how everyone responds. I do believe in pursuing the “right” job, but passion just maybe doesn’t play into it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Woop woop! Congratulations!!!
    I am so like that too…as soon as I tell Jarno about a plan, it is pretty much a ‘done deal’ in my head too. Those husbands of us, aren’t they just fantastic? hihi
    I am going to put a permanent link to your writingendeavors site on my website, if that is ok? XxX

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Such wonderful news, Katharin! Congrats on taking this bold step towards entrepreneurship. The journey won’t be easy, but, in time, you’ll reap the rewards of your hard work. I’m sure that you’ll grow by leaps and bounds, the more you learn. If I ever need any advice, you’ll be first on my list. 🙂

    I’m glad you ended on that thought-provoking note. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations wishing you much success. I am inspired to stay on my path for self publishing and starting my business. It is long and tedious but I will not give up.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Girrrrlll, I marvel at all you do and wonder the same thing about you and Munch and Mister C, and…lol

      Seriously though, I’ve learned to do everything a little at a time, instead of trying to accomplish everything all at once.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Congratulations, Kathy! I don’t think there is a right or wrong way to start a business, there is your way and the guts to go ahead in the first place. Yikes, all that paperwork but bet you’re soon an expert on business start-ups…and idea for another company helping prospective businesses! I love the name of your new enterprise – says it all! You’ve got a great looking website, easy to navigate and well-thought out. You’re well set up and best of luck!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Annika! I agree. The only ‘wrong’ way is not at all, in my opinion. Thanks for the name compliment! I went through a few different ideas. Thanks also for visiting my website. I’m glad you think it’s nice looking! It took me several hours/days to get it to look like I wanted (another part of the learning process). Aaaand…thanks for the well wishes! I appreciate it all 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations, Kathy! That is terrific and at some point I will likely hire you! As to what I’m waiting for, it’s for my husband to get stable in his work and finances so I don’t have to be Mrs. Responsible for providing stable income and insurance. I fear this may never happen and where does that leave me?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Kim! Looking forward to it 🙂 Totally understand those reasons…to that I say work a little at a time towards whatever you want to do. Last year, I had to remind people that I have a full-time job…ain’t nobody got time to be quitting jobs to fulfill passions at this stage in life (well, not me anyway). So, I just do a little bit every day with all of the things I’d like to be doing 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I hear you there. I’ve got my fingers in so many pies of my passions that I’m going to need to find another hand from somewhere 🙂 It’s all good though. I’ll always find time for my passions. The full-time job helps me grow my network as well as paying the bills so it pays its way in my schedule 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Brilliant. “Work to live not live to work”. It may seem odd saying that when you’re doing so much but when you find and run with your passion, it really feels like you’re truly living life, not working 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this, Kathy. Good for you.

    I’m doing it! Both with my business Forgiving Connects (for coaching) and my relationship. My heart is in and I put my actions on the line!

    You are awesome, and I so honor you. Blessings, Debbie

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You are a walking inspiration Debbie and a daily testimony, for me anyway 🙂 You really live life out loud in every way possible and I believe people need to see that in action. Thanks for saying I’m AWESOME ❤ And thanks for honoring me luv! I appreciate it 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  8. I had my own business for years and I learned as I worked. Sometimes you don’t know what you need until you start working.

    I wish you great success. I may need to use your services one day.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. “I typically research how to do things while I’m doing it”. This is me. I am this.

    Congratulations on launching Writing Endeavors! (I would add the registered trademark sign, but I have no clue how to do that on my computer). I really enjoyed this post and it gave me things to consider if/when I launch a business.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Merliiiine! I’m giving you a high-five right now. Thanks for the congrats! No worries about that, as long as you don’t try to create a business called Writing Endeavors we’re good lol YAY! Looking forward to seeing what’s in the works, and you know I’m just a text a way for help 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Miriam, it’s crazy lol So true about “cramping my way of expression.” Sometimes I think, “I just want to edit; I don’t want to worry about this other stuff lol but I’m getting the hang of it. What kind of business did you do?

    Thanks for the well wishes 🙂

    Like

    1. Kelley Kelley! I know you know better than many just what I’m talking about! I might have to call on you during this process to see how you keep it together lol I keep wondering how people with businesses that require buildings, equipment, or other people keep up with all of their paperwork.

      Anywho, yes. I had to reflect on other projects where, yep…wings literally do form as you fly 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s true! You have to go for it or you’ll never know.

        And the paperwork is a whole other beast right! We are just NOW feeling like we’re getting it together.

        Like

  11. I think your way of doing things makes a lot of sense, KE. Learning as you go is the kind of practical experience that makes things stick, unlike books/classrooms where none of it seems real until you actually start doing it. For you, writing opened the door to editing, and by doing editing and finding that you like it, you’re already sharpening your skills and establishing a base of potential clients. When you do what you love, Serendipity will catch up to you and make it work. We both know it. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. RIGHT! In many professions, you go to school and then you end up learning on the job anyway. I think you’re also right about the flow of this particular adventure. When you’re in the flow of things, then everything tends to lead to the next thing and it doesn’t seem so daunting/uphill. Thanks for all of these kind affirmations Joan! I appreciate it.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Good luck with your new business, Kathy. I remember well when I set one up for my artwork – it’s a lot of stuff to do, but once it’s in place it sure feels great. Wishing you much success. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. OMGosh it is! That’s what I keep telling myself. I’ts just the beginning stages where you have to figure out all the particulars and then everything else flows. Thanks for the well wishes Judy!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. That quote is so true, one has to be bold, take a risk and pursue their dreams! Congrats Kathy for jumping off that cliff. 🙂 All the best!

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Ha ha! I love bureaucracy! Missing an income reporting deadline with no income. So many questions! Like does your book income roll to the business or is that you personally, or another business? Are you doing developmental editing or copy editing or something else? What an exciting next chapter for you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Isn’t that crazy? I was like huh? How was I supposed to know that I should be reporting…like a month after I incorporated? Luckily, the state is pretty kind so he rolled back the date and explained to me the quarterly reporting process (which is required no matter if you’ve made money or not) lol or you’re FINED! Anywho, I’m doing proofreading, developmental, and copy editing for both creative and academic work. Thanks Joanna! It really is a fun time, when I’m not reporting non-income lol

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Kathy, I am laughing whilst reading your both practical and amusing post.
    All those boxes to fill – I really do not like boxes. Find them seriously cramping our way
    of expression. Needs be though.:).
    As to learning on the job, I am all with you on that. The quickest way, no slacking.😊
    I have started business on the hop like you and it was very successful. Didn’t I work hard though.
    You go Kathy and best of luck to you.
    miriam

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are welcomed

