♊44 Lessons♊

 

Today is my 44th birthday! You might remember this from last year. I’ve added a 44th lesson: 

fall
Royalty Free Image
  1. Pay attention to nature. 
  2. Some friends don’t last forever. 
  3. Physical life doesn’t last forever, but death will continue to surprise you.
  4. If you don’t like the life you’ve created, then make steps to create a new one.
  5. Be yourself. 
  6. Love yourself. 
  7. Be nice to people you don’t know. 
  8. People will let you down. Learn how much letdown you want to tolerate from any one person.
  9. Learn when it’s time to let go.
  10. Learn when to hold on. 
img_1003
Change. ©2016. K E Garland.

11. You always have a choice.

12. No one owes you anything.

13. You don’t owe anyone anything.

14. Sometimes friends act more like family.

15. Be honest with yourself and others.

16. Kids are not a do-over. They are individuals with their own experiences.

17. If you want more love, compassion or empathy, then give more love, compassion or empathy.

18. You can’t make people like you.

19. It’s never too late to grow.

20. Change is inevitable, whether it’s biological or spiritual.

IMG_3299
Change2. ©2016. K E Garland.
21. Be grateful for all the so-called bad stuff that’s happened.

22. Apologize.

23. Accept apologies.

24. Folks will fill in the blanks of your life AND make up their own stories about it; so what?

25. Mistakes are inevitable; try anyway.

26. Institutions look out for themselves.

27. You will attract people and experiences that reflect how you feel about yourself, whether you believe that concept or not.

28. Treat people the way you want to be treated, even if you don’t think they’ve done the same.

29. Nothing is finite.

30. Recognize how you feel in situations.

img_0400
Crescent Moon Love. ©2016. K E Garland.
31.You can’t blame your parents forever.

32. Wisdom doesn’t always come with age.

33. Listen to your children. For a long time, they are a reflection of you.

34. Don’t try to convince people that their belief system is wrong, stupid or inaccurate.

35. Fear nothing.

36. Know yourself.

37.One way to avoid manipulation is to be clear about who you are and what you want.

38. Judging does not equal caring.

39. Treat the homeless as you would your own mother.

40. Exercise so you can continue to move your body in ways you enjoy.

41. Learn something. But figure out if you need to pay for the knowledge or if you can Google your way through.

42. There is no correct way to live life. transient2

43. We’re all connected.

44. Be of service.

~kg

161 thoughts on “♊44 Lessons♊

  1. I’m not sure how I missed this Kathy, although my gravatar is there – surely I would’ve wished you a happy birthday?? Strange! Anyway – Happy Belated 44th Birthday and I hope you had a wonderful day.
    Your lessons are thought-provoking, but I have an issue with no.17 🙂 I have found that some people don’t always reciprocate and sometimes end up as doormats – but then that’s my observation (which is very close to home), but in general maybe it does work …:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s no problem. I accept birthday wishes well into June lol

      As far as 17, what helped me is to realize that you might not receive love and compassion from the same source to which you gave it. It’s not always a reciprocal case because quite honestly, many people do not have love and compassion to give back.

      This is why service has been a great thing for me. It’s a way for me to provide love and compassion to “strangers,” who are typically people that cannot or will not give anything in return.

      I’ll add this though, if you’re giving love and compassion to someone in hopes they’ll return the favor, then you might become a doormat. This is where I’ve had to learn to release expectations to people and check the reason why I’m doing something for someone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. How very gracious of you re accepting birthday wishes! Do you have a cut-off point?! lol

        Absolutely about the rest! My particular case was observing someone being treated very badly all the time despite all the love that was shown to the person ill-treating her. But as you so rightly say, generally showing love, compassion etc is karmic and what you give out, you surely receive back, often tenfold.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! I hope I didn’t miss it! Birthdays on social media are absolutely nutz! I appreciate the well wishes though and please know it was an oversight if I didn’t respond 🙂

      Like

  2. Happy Belated Birthday! Your post reminds me of the Serenity Prayer. There’s so much in the world that we can’t control but when we do what is within our Power we can change our own world. I hope you had a beautiful and blessed day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah! I love these lessons! Though they are easy to recognize, they can be so difficult to accept!The “You can’t make people like you” point is particularly difficult for me to accept but I’m working on it! You’d think by being your true self and being kind to others that they would like you, but we know this isn’t always the case.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much Celina! I’m glad you enjoyed them. I agree. I’ve spent quite a bit of life just trying to figure out how to get people to like me, when the reality is, you can’t lol I will say that once you really learn to be your true self, then you’ll attract those people who you won’t need to convince to like you 😉 And miraculously, all others won’t matter as much.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Kathy, a belated Happy Birthday! I hope you had a lovely time celebrating…or are you waiting until this weekend? The list still stands strong and I like your addition. ‘Fear nothing’ – yikes, that’s a tall order!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Happy Birthday to You!/ Happy Birthday to You!/ Happy Birthday dear Ka-thee! (switch to Stevie Wonder version) Ha-ppy Birthday to Ya!/ Ha-ppy Birthday to Ya!/ Happy Biirrrthday!

    (great List BTW)

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Still love this list! I don’t know if I have a favorite, but #s 24, 27, 28 and 35 really speak to me. Still. Thanks for sharing and I hope your 44th year is AMAZING! Happy birthday!!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are welcomed

