Monday Notes: 4 Ways to Support Someone

Do you know someone who’s baked pastries, created jewelry, or written a book (wink-wink)? Well, I’m willing to bet that person would love some support. Here are a few ways you can offer assistance.

Money

img_3018Money can help in a few ways. If the person is in the beginning stages of creation, then perhaps you can donate money to his or her cause. Many people have GoFund Me pages or other crowdsourcing Apps just for that reason. It might not seem like a lot, but you never know how much your $5.00 is boosting his or her dreams.

If the person has a product, then they’d probably appreciate it if you’d bought it. That is the ultimate goal, right? Over the past few months, I’ve bought six Indie authors’ books for no other reason than I know what it feels like to self-publish a book and want someone to buy it.

This leads me to the second type of support: Interest

I didn’t just purchase six books, I’ve read four of them and provided Amazon reviews and feedback to each author.

1488253328612

As bloggers, you can probably relate to this idea the most. Remember how you felt when someone not only clicked on your link, but also read, liked, and commented on your early posts? It’s a small bit of validation that you actually did write words that interested someone.

Writers want readers. Podcasters want listeners. Artists want viewers. You get my point.

Another way to show interest is to literally be interested. Ask the person about what they’re doing. Most people love talking about their latest project if it’s common knowledge. For example, I appreciated it when the few people who knew I was writing, actually asked, “How’s the book coming along?” Conversations centered on the production showed they cared about what I was doing.

img_3033Next is Advertise. Most small business owners do not have a large budget for marketing. That means they have to rely on word of mouth. Contemporary marketing can help because it includes social media. Love it or hate it, it’s an important part of spreading the word about products.

Think about how much you can support others’ business endeavors simply by providing a short shout out on FB, Twitter, or IG? The way I see it, if you can post and share about some celebrity you don’t know, then certainly you can post and share about your cousin who’s trying to make it as an actor!

Okay. What if you don’t have a lot of extra money or you loathe social media? Well, the next thing you can do is Provide a Service. People are surprised to hear that my husband hasn’t read the book. Most of the time it doesn’t bother me though because he’s done other things. He helped me conceptualize the cover; he’s created an Excel sheet and kept up with sales; and he’s created fliers for a few events. In essence, he’s supported me in ways that are aligned with his business major skillset.

My little sister-friend is the one who nominated me for an award, which ultimately provided exposure. Another friend is a media journalist. She used her equipment to create the promotional video. Those of you who’ve read the book know that an online relationship coach, Anita Charlot wrote the afterword. She didn’t have to do that; it was a service she provided to me, which of course simultaneously supported her own business.

And I can’t forget about you guys! I was surprised at how much my own WordPress community read and blogged about The Unhappy Wife. It was five-months of blogging love. You provided a writing service that doubled as unexpected advertising. I’m positive this was one of the reasons I had consistent sales. I can’t thank everyone enough for that.

Those are my four ways: give money; show interest; advertise; and provide a service. What would you add to this list? How do you support your friends and family’s goals?

 

37 thoughts on “Monday Notes: 4 Ways to Support Someone

  1. Reblogged this on K. Phoenix and commented:
    It doesn’t take much to show your support for someone.
    Dr. K . Garland touched base on the many ways you can show your support. Do go and check out her blog post, you’ll be glad you did. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! Support comes in many different forms. Sometimes we are disappointed when others don’t support us in the way that we would like most – but we should stay appreciative when support arrives in these other forms as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right Josie! I had to learn that by writing. A lot of times I’m expecting a non-reader to follow and read my blog or read a book just because they’re a “friend.” That’s unrealistic. Now if they don’t do anything at all, that’s another story lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Exactly! An associate of mine sells a product that I have no use for. She wanted me to support her buy purchasing (which I did). But it cost me money I didn’t have and I didn’t even use the product. It made me want to keep my distance a bit because I’m afraid she’ll ask for more “support.” I would have much rather she had just encouraged me to spread the word instead.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a well done post that covers it so well. Love it. If you don’t mind we would like to tag along with you on this journey we are all on and start seeing the world through your eyes and words. Learning is fuel to our passions and you have things for us to learn.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This piece is so practical but very true! Sometimes we get so caught up in our own projects that we forget to slow down and support! I’ve done this engrossed in editing my first book. Which by the way is brutal!! Lol! I’m determined to finish! Thanks for the reminder! I needed it!🤗

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Chanel! I’m sure that’s true for so many. In fact, it’s been a challenge I have with a “friend.” When she’s consumed with her own projects, then it doesn’t matter what anyone else is doing.

      Good luck on the edits! Looking forward to checking it out!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Funny you should ask!
    And I loved this, by the way!
    Actually I have a friend who is trying to find her adoptive mother so I wrote a letter (last night) on her behalf to a TV show that might be able to help her.
    It might pan out and then again it might not, but I did what I do best to help my friend.
    No doubt, our gifts can be used to create gifts for others.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lol thanks Lady G! That’s all I’m saying. Instead of just acting like there’s nothing we can ever do, or saying, “Oh that’s nice” lol we can always find some small way to support one another, no matter what it is. I like what you said at the end, “Our gifts can be used to create gifts for others.” Yes ma’am!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you Doc. I am a strong believer in doing what you can where you are. Most people have no idea how the smallest gesture can affect a person in a huge way.
        As you said, people tend to think that they can’t do anything extravagant so they end up doing nothing.
        How do I know? I know because I used to do the same thing. But I’ll tell you what, this aging thing will make begin to see some things; it opens your eyes to the fact that it aint’ always about you and yours, rather, it’s about the greater good.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this! (thank you for the Untangled shout-out🤗) I love supporting someones goals and ideas. If I can share my marketing skills with someone, I try to do that. Also, like you, taking an interest in new authors, reading and providing good reviews. I am all for helping each other grow. There is room for all our successes. 💕

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Alexis! And YOU’RE WELCOME! Yours was such a good and helpful story to read. That’s exactly what I’m saying. “There is room for all of our successes!” I think somewhere in life we got in our heads that abundance isn’t abundant, but of course, that’s just not true.

      I’ll have to pick your brain later this year about marketing 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I love this! I’m a firm believer in giving a hand up to people when they are starting something new. I’m always happy to give what I can to help get them up and running!

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are welcomed

