7 Days of Yoga

meditating_1
Royalty Free Pixabay

Yoga sparks my creativity. I’m sure there’s some scientific/spiritual rationale of which I’m unaware, but for me, the proof is production. With all my Unhappy Wife marketing, it became challenging to write anything new, so I decided to engage in seven days of yoga. Consequently, I attained more than creativity.

Monday, October 31st (Yoga Den, Mandarin 7:45-9:00 P.M.) It slipped my mind that today was Halloween, so I almost didn’t make it. I wanted to pass out the four bags of peanut and peanut butter M&Ms that Dwight’s eyes had signaled was too much. But I’d promised myself attendance at Sun Flow Yin. I would have to rely on my nonsocial daughters to take the lead. One little boy showed up right before I left. Turns out he was the only trick-or-treater we got this year, so I didn’t miss anything and my daughters didn’t have to interact with people.

Today’s Lesson: Follow your instinct.

Tuesday, November 1st (LA Fitness, Kernan, 9:45-10:45 A.M.) I slept like a six-month old baby snuggled in between co-sleeping parents. I’m attributing a good night’s rest to the previous night’s yoga. However, practicing back-to-back made me nervous. My anxiety floated away once I noticed a guy doing downward facing dog in his drawers. I was slightly distracted, not because anything showed, but because I kept wondering if those were indeed his skivvies. They were. The bright blue band around the top gave it away. I didn’t think my yoga crew noticed because there were no side eyes or eyebrow raises. He and I walked out together and he engaged me in conversation. Underwear guy’s name is Joe. He’d lost his wife seven years ago in a drunk driving accident. She left him with a set of twin boys and a daughter to raise. Without yoga, he believed he would’ve died too.

Lesson: You never know what someone’s gone through, so treat them with kindness.

Wednesday, November 2nd (Yoga Den, Mandarin 6:30-7:30 P.M.) I loathe Wednesdays. On this day, I drive two hours to teach one class that lasts an hour and fifteen minutes. The angst of the drive begins Tuesday night and settles into my consciousness, making for a stressful morning and grumpy day. But today felt a little different. Maybe back-to-back yoga helped me maintain peace. After class, I usually drive to main campus and participate in a meeting, work in my office until 5:00, and then leave. The chair cancelled today’s meeting, so I graded papers until 3:45 and made it back home just in time for Mind-Body yoga. To be honest, I chose this yoga because the time was appropriate. But the lesson about mind-body connection was also what I needed to hear. Hopefully, I can put it into practice this coming Wednesday.

Lesson: Everything begins in the mind.

meditation_2
Royalty Free Pixabay

Thursday, November 3rd (LA Fitness, Kernan, Jacksonville, Florida 9:45-10:45 A.M.) Welp, my yoga crew did notice that Joe and his undies. They were in a circle discussing it as I rolled out my mat. By the time I returned from the restroom, someone had approached Joe about it. I came back just in time to hear this:

Joe: Y’all shouldn’t be looking at me anyways. Yoga is supposed to be a meditation. Y’all should be meditating. Everybody in here should be able to do yoga naked ‘cause we should all be so focused on ourselves.

Mrs. Gail: That’s what I tried to tell ‘em Joe!

I politely stretched into child’s pose and minded my own business.

Lesson: Focus on yourself.

Friday, November 4th (Yoga Den, Mandarin, Jacksonville, Florida 9:15-10:45 A.M.) I almost didn’t make it today you guys. The bed was so warm and cozy. And I thought to myself, KG, you’ve already done four days. Isn’t that good enough? Then, that same nagging feeling I get when I make self-promises began to surface. It’s familiar. I cannot tell myself I’m going to do a thing and not follow through. Off to yoga I went. This isn’t any old type of yoga. The instructor begins by playing a banjo and we all chant Om Namah Shivaya. Then, we chant three OMs and begin our practice. It’s intense. Today, I almost threw up. I know that’s not a good yoga practice if you almost hurl. And it certainly goes against what you’re supposed to be practicing in the first place. I thought I was done overachieving, but this proved otherwise. Every now and then, I still unconsciously overextend myself; yoga is no different. I’m working on it. After Savasana, she plays the banjo again and we do three more OMs. This particular practice is my favorite one, but it usually doesn’t come behind four other yoga days.

Lesson: Be true to yourself by honoring your word. Be mindful.

Saturday, November 5th (LA Fitness, Lakewood, Jacksonville, Florida 11:00 A.M.-12:00 P.M.) On Saturdays, I wake up sans alarm clock. I lie in bed, blog a little, write a little, and then decide what I’m going to do. Not today. Friday afternoon, my goddaughter texted to inform me that the local bookstore had run out of copies of The Unhappy Wife.

“So I can come Monday?” I asked Jen, the owner.

“We’re open Saturday and Sunday at 9:00 A.M.” she replied.

I broke my usual routine and was at the bookstore by 9:00 A.M.

“Thank you so much,” she started, “Really appreciate you.”

“No. Thank you,” I smiled.

We were helping one another. Because of her, I didn’t have to sell books out of my trunk, and because of me, she was gaining more customers and revenue. This was the win-win I’d heard so much about.

Afterwards, I went to yoga.

Lesson: If you want something, you have to be willing to break self-made traditions.

om
Royalty Free Pixabay

Sunday, November 6th (Walk with Dwight) By this day, I was tired of yoga. My shoulders felt as if I’d been lifting weights all day. My core was a bit tighter, but hurt when I bent to the side. My legs felt as if I’d done 100 squats each day. So Dwight and I took our usual Sunday walk.

Lesson: Know when to listen to your body, as opposed to your mind.

My creativity is back, but quite honestly, three days worth of yoga is quite enough for me.

58 thoughts on “7 Days of Yoga

    1. Thank you! I’m glad to hear it. I know one of the yogas really focuses on opening up your chakras and listening to your inner self, but I stopped trying to figure out how the others contribute lol Thanks for stopping by, reading and commenting.

      Like

      1. You go Joe! (What a great lesson in understanding differences and supporting others because we don’t know what they might be going through.) Thanks again. I am trying to figure out how to post your article on my “Post I like” Widget. That widget isn’t posting but I am going to keep trying, as I think your article is just great. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Meghan! After that day, Joe has practiced in his undies, front and center where we can all practice being more mindful 😉 Please do! I’m sure you understand how beneficial it is. Hope you’re having a happy holiday season doing whatever you please.

      Like

      1. Okay. There’s a yoga instructor that goes to our job so I would be able to do it right after work in the same buildimg. So I’ll try it and let you knownhownit goes.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love the detail in your writing and how you communicated the effectiveness of yoga while actually writing very little about the practice of it. You are a wonderful writer and I’m not surprised your book sold out!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. After 3 months of doing ashtanga once a week, I started to do things I never thought I would do one day: dancing, drawing, hiking… you name it. As a teacher myself, my courses became more creative… in a way I can see me writing your blog. Thank you so much

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I started yoga in my late teens. It saved me, although I did not know it at the time. Looking back I realised that it kept me functioning. We had an amazing yoga teacher and I guess I had a lot of enthusiasm then – and more energy! 🙂 Not sure I could manage 7 days in a row – well done you and thanks for sharing.

    On another note I loved the time differences exchange between you and Mek. Now I don’t feel such a twit for not being able to get my head around it. LOL Minus 4 hours, add 5, do what???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. How wonderful to have started such a meaningful practice in your teens! I can’t imagine where I’d be if I would’ve begun decades ago. But, we find things when we find them, I guess. I’m sure that I can’t manage seven days in a row, as of today lol AND Thanks!

      Girl…you see Mek over there adding and subtracting hours, while I’m like, “Siri, what time is it in Australia???” No, I literally Google the words most of the time lol I always forget to find out and end up waking her up.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kathy you have made me chuckle. Seriously what is going on in Australia with “time”. It’s a headache working out the time difference and at one point I thought it was ME. But now I know Dr Garland (of the 3 degrees!):) can’t work it out either. I’m like whatever!!!
        Yes, starting yoga when I was 19 was probably the best thing I ever did. coming from a very unsettled background it must have staved off the chronic anxiety which manifested when I was a little older and had actually stopped doing it. Maybe I ought to start again …
        I shouldn’t worry too much about not being able to keep up a 7 day regime – I’m sure once a week is fine.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Kathy, terrific post about your yoga marathon! I loved the insights into each day, the thought of naked yoga had me giggling, definitely a time to tune out and go into child pose. So happy it helped with your creativity and perhaps three times a week is something to consider? Wow! 😀😀 Congratulations on the shop selling out of your book – brilliant news for both you and the shop store owner! Hope you got to celebrate a little.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well, Dwight’s bday was Sunday, so I just rolled a celebration into that (in my mind). Mrs. Gail actually went on to describe how she and her husband were nudist for eight years…I tried to ignore her conversation, until she got to the part about having breakfast as a nudist lol good grief! Yes, definitely no more than 3 times a week.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I really enjoyed reading this, Kathrin. I liked going on your yoga journey with you. I used to be a yoga addict, at the studio 3 and 4 times a week, up at 5:15AM for my morning practice. I’m even certified to teach it, though I don’t have time to anymore. I’ve recently committed to at least once per week at the studio, preferably twice, and actually made it twice last week! Your post has inspired me to go twice again this week. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Joe’s reply to the group- i twnd to close my eyes as much as possible. Well done on all that yoga- it is definitely transformative. I like your description of sleeping like a baby snuggled up between co sleeping parents…sounds so snug 😊 Oh, and well done on selling out at the bookstore!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I’m up cause it’s MORNING first of 3 days of full time writing…Haha I’m normally up way earlier than that message! I did yoga for first time in 2 weeks yesterday- was good to be back. ..public holidays and training courses at work got in the way.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Ha yeah, after i posted that comment I realised that it’s now 16 hours diff. What I do to make it easier on my brain is minus 4 to whatever the time is here, and take it as the opposite of here, so right now here is 8:34 am so minus four and opposite – is 4:34 pm for you! Similarly for you, add 4 to your time and take opposite haha. It was easier when we only had a 14 hour diff cause more of our daytime overlapped…Okay, seriously need to get back to my full time NaNo mode…later!

        Liked by 2 people

  7. I really like how you put the lessons you learned from each day up. “Lesson: You never know what someone’s gone through, so treat them with kindness.” Is something that I have been working on myself. It took me forever to realize that everybody is going through things and need to be treated as such. I was and still am so gung-ho on how I think people should move, but sometimes they just can’t move like that. And I should’t think they have to. People are going through mental, physical and emotional pain that they may hide very well.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Thank you for your kind words! It took me a long time to realize this. I am still working to remove that fault within myself. I can see my fault but if I am to be honest, I am young and bullheaded. I still think I can control things and I can’t. Even though I am saying this now, I still think that I can. I have a lot of work to do.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. You are welcome. It takes a very wise person to recognise (I’m not going to call it a fault) 🙂 areas in which they need to develop self. You have every right to be young and bull-headed – that’s what youth is for. You don’t however have to stay that way. Keep working on it – you sound like a fine young person.

        Liked by 2 people

  8. Nice! I have a friend that recommended I do yoga. I know very little, if anything at all, about it. It is important to bring mind and body more in unison, as the daily hustles and bustles separate them. After reading this, I am definitely considering it more! Thanks for the inspiration!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Oh I highly recommend it. Is helped me in my daily life. I find myself taking a few breaths instead of “going off on people” lol but try a few out first. Like I’ve shown here, they’re not all the same and you’re welcome 🙏🏾

      Liked by 2 people

Comments are welcomed

