Other People’s Quotes: Never Give Up?

If you ordered The Unhappy Wife last week, then it should be on its way. If not, then what are you waiting for? Until then, check out this Audrey Hepburn quote. I’m not sure about this one. It comes from the Committed Wife section of the book. I’ve talked a lot about releasing people and things on this blog, so I have to say, I disagree. What do you think, though? When it comes to romantic relationships, do you keep trying, or let it go?

audrey-hepburn-quotes-041

Β ORDER the PAPERBACK HERE!

And if you’ve pre-ordered the eBook, then it should have released to your device today!

48 thoughts on “Other People’s Quotes: Never Give Up?

  1. This is so crazy because, as you know, I posted this exact quote on my blog this past week, totally unknowing that you also posted it (until now). I posted it because I was thinking a lot about it as it relates to my marriage, which was sparked by a visit to a vineyard with my son and his fiancΓ© (we were checking out the place for a rehearsal dinner, which my husband and I are hosting). I am still trying to figure this out with my own marriage. So for now I’ll say, I don’t know if I agree or not. I’m leaning toward agreeing, I want to agree, but I also get that sometimes it’s not possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think some relationships are seasonal and not meant to last a life time. Saying that I guess I disagree with the quote a bit! Lol! I say never give up praying for anyone but if they are not doing their part for the health of the relationship then you gotta release them! Congrats again on the book! The magazine I write for asked me for new Christian Authors to do a write up on their website. Let me know if you are interested. Blessings!πŸ€—

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A season, a reason, or a lifetime…you’re absolutely right Chanel. I also agree with praying for them and then letting that thang go.

      Thanks for the congrats and well wishes. So, my answer to your question is this: I don’t consider myself a Christian author; however, I do write about and promote similar values (e.g., not judging, having faith, etc.). With that said, my answer is SURE, but it’s up to you and what the magazine would want. Hope that’s clear and let me know either way πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. If I haven’t said so previously, congratulations on your book Kathy. On the quote, I think it largely depends on the people and situations in which they are involved. I believe in second chances but in an abusive or co-dependency type relationship, the person with the issues needs to work out their problems on their own. Personally in this type scenario I’d wish them nothing but the best but for me it would be audios amigos.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is on my device!!! Yippee! How cool is that? Okay, but I have to finish “A Man Called Ove” first. I’m a total monogamist reader. I promise you are next though! Congratulations Kathy! I’m over the moon thrilled for you.

      Also, some people deserve to be surgically removed from your life. They cause more distraction than they could ever provide value.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. YAY! Okay. I totally understand. I’m not a multiple book reader either. Thanks again! Looking forward to your thoughts. Lol surgically removed? Agreed. If you have to be surgically removed, then there’s no question you gotta go lol

        Liked by 1 person

  4. And to add on to the marvelous responses above; I always say, that if you start disliking your partner and you know it won’t change anymore, leave/separate before you start hating one-another. Especially when children are involved, since you have to keep communicating for the sake of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s really that simple Patty. I guess the challenge is that sometimes people don’t dislike their partner. They just dislike the behavior and it causes some riffs (for lack of a better word). When that happens, what’s a partner to do?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi K E, very interesting post πŸ™‚ I have so say, I also disagree with Audrey on this one. Sue J. summed it up in her comments.

    Most of the time whenever someone needs to work on themselves, I mean serious work…it’s best to let “them” work on it,…. not you. And sometimes to avoid being hit by the flying tools being thrown here & there while they’re “under construction”, you have to make your exit, especially in a personal relationship…UNLESS, you’re already married to this person & it doesn’t involve any form of abuse or danger to you…then & ONLY then…you should obviously stick it out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL – That’s the best analogy JL! A lot of times we want to help, forgetting that anyone/thing under construction, oftentimes leads to a big mess, with flying tools lol You’d be surprised at how many people see the person “under construction” and proceed, (with no caution) anyway.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. My sense is that there’s an opportunity to learn from every relationships that we have & to be at peace with – and give loving to – each person inside of us.

    As far as whether we continue an outer relationship, this to me depends on the person and lots of factors! Key though is to love regardless.

    Thank you, K E, for a thought-provoking post. I love it. Your blog is a blessing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good point Debbie! Many of us have lower/higher thresholds depending on backgrounds and experiences. Love is always the key, as you say, but is it okay to simply love from afar? Do we have to be married or in relationship with the person? You’re welcome and THANK YOU for stopping by πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  7. It would be so easy if there were only one answer to your question! Do you continue to believe because you instinctively see someone with greater worth than even they trust they have? Because you know that underneath the rough, scaly exterior there is someone who can change your life for the better, bring you love you never knew existed? And yet there is the bottom-line truth that “you got to know when it’s time to let go.” I’m looking forward to your book and wish you all the best with it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Belinda! Relationships are so “complicated” some time, or are they? lol This is exactly what I hope to show, especially with this particular quote. One wife’s mother gave her this advice and it is the very reason she stayed in a relationship with her husband for 20 years. Like you say, the answers are not always so cut and dry. Have you ordered your book yet? I look forward to hearing what you think.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do plan to order the book. I have a lot of respect for what you have to say! This month the expenses of my move are catching up with me so I’m putting “extra” purchases on hold until I can be certain I can get all my bills paid!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I was wondering if someone hacked your blog when i saw that quote. I disagree with it as a blanket statement, but I do believe that If there are opportunities remaining for your own and the other person’s growth, and you both recognise that, then yeah- don’t quit. Of course it also depends on the nature of what needs redemption, restoration etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. HA! Yeah, you know this doesn’t sound like me at all lol One wife’s mom gave her this advice, and it ended up being the one reason she didn’t leave her husband. Once you get your book you’ll see the circumstances though.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha so funny. I’ll text you st the end of eavh chapter do you can break down the W T F one letter at a time πŸ˜‚

        Seriously though, im sure we’ve all made choices at some point in our lives that someone somewhere would say ‘wtf?’ on hearing about it.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. I tend to agree with Audrey’s statement, BUT I don’t think it’s necessarily possible when in the thick of living with someone who needs to be “restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, redeemed” that we are able to help with the restoration, renewal, revival, reclamation, redemption when we ourselves probably have some restoring, renewing, reviving, reclaiming, redeeming to do within ourselves. When we walk away from someone who needs but may not be receptive to our help, we typically do so because we are overwhelmed with the work we need to do for them on top of the work we need to do for ourselves. We walk away knowing that even though work for the other may be a matter of life or death, the work for ourselves is a matter of life or death also. Our primal instinct is to save ourselves and so we do.

    Liked by 5 people

    1. Such a good point Sue J! You cannot give from an empty cup (is that how that saying goes?) Plus, I wholeheartedly believe that only you can fix you. A partner might choose to stay with you while you do that, but ultimately, it’s still you doing the work for yourself.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes! We must do our own work for ourselves. AND we must resist trying to do others’ work for them! The latter concept is still one I grapple with. I know I have had times where I thought it was my job somehow to “fix” another… probably caused myself more misery than necessary.

        Liked by 2 people

Comments are welcomed

