3 Ways to Engage with Bloggers

You’ve probably heard that a major part of blogging is not only providing interesting content, but also engaging with other bloggers. But if you’re like me, then sometimes interacting can feel like a part-time job. If you’re also like me, then you already have a full-time job where you make money and another job called “parent” and “spouse.” However, I’m sure you recognize that it’s worth it to invest time to those who support your art.

But how?

1462384683375

#1: Wait for someone to follow, like or comment. I average approximately 30-40 interactions per day. When a WordPress blogger follows, likes or comments, then I read one of their recent posts and do the same. If I’m not already following, then I check out his or her “About” page and browse around. Most of the time, I find something I like, unless it’s a blog about nuclear physics or something. In that case, I read a post, like and comment, and keep it moving. It takes me about two hours a day. You might be wondering where I find two hours a day. The answer is that I don’t watch Scandal, Grey’s Anatomy or the show about the zombies. Instead, I choose to engage with people who genuinely support me and it’s well worth it.

1462384479109

#2: Keep a Twitter blogger list. Many bloggers link their WordPress sites to Twitter. So one of the first things I do when I first follow them is search for their page, follow, and then add them to my WordPress Blogger list. The list serves as a filter. I spend about twenty minutes checking Twitter each day. One day I may read the first ten writers. Another day, I may read every other person’s. Either way, it helps me to see the people who haven’t followed, liked or commented on my articles. I squeeze in Twitter time while I’m standing in a long line or waiting at a doctor’s office. If you choose to use this method, then also be sure to like, re-tweet, and add hashtags to posts that you want everyone else to see. It’s the name of the Twitter game.

#3: Check my WordPress reader. This is my least favorite. I check my reader once a month. Like many of you, I use the filter “Blogs I follow.” From there, I can catch up on bloggers I’ve added through WordPress, but not email. Other times I search for topics that match my own categories, such as “quotes” or “inspiration.” This ensures that I follow people who will want to engage with similar content. I’ve found quite a few blogs using this system.

I know it’s hard to keep up with FB, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, and also WordPress, so I hope these tips help. How do you blog? What do you do to keep up? Please let us know so we can all become more efficient 🙂

75 thoughts on “3 Ways to Engage with Bloggers

  1. Kathy, your latest post about attending an event that you had been in two minds about attending was brilliant. Such good advice! I cannot find this post anywhere save for the notification which is why I am commenting here.
    I have often found that when I have in the past been apprehensive about attending an event, and I actually get there, it turns out to be edifying. I learn something, I am validated in some way or I share something which in turn makes someone feel valid. I think at times like this, if you follow your intuition you are always rewarded in some way. That said, sometimes you should heed that warning voice – you have to ‘know’ when to heed and when to ignore: that takes practise!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie! Once again for some reason I scheduled the post for Monday but it posted for today! It’ll be back on Monday. I agree that we have to get really adept at knowing when to separate intuition from made up rationale that’s rooted in fear. Thanks for commenting lol I hope you’ll come back Monday and repeat!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great advice Dr. Garland. I have been blogging for a little over 2 months now and, for the most part, it is a learn-as-you-go type of process. I think it is really important to develop a community based on reciprocity. It is a great idea to have a list of bloggers. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Darryl! Yes, please don’t take this as “real” advice. It’s stuff I learned as I went along. I’ve found it’s kind of like face to face life. When you engage people and also care about what they’re doing, then they’ll usually do the same. I do have a couple of bloggers who never stop by my blog, even though I frequent theirs often, but it’s literally two people. Thanks for reading a few of my posts tonight 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tips. I’m just starting out and I’m really confused as to how I should go about connecting with other bloggers. Posts like this help a heap. I think I need to make myself a Twitter acount. Everyone keeps saying that.
    Thanks again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol whatever works for you…remember there are no rules per se. I would just make sure you also follow bloggers on IG. That’s helped me too. In fact follow me at kegarlandwriter 😉

        Like

  4. I def agree on this , I wish more bloggers would be more in tune with other blogs therefore creating a more eventful blogger community. I will say I think there needs to be some changes with the layout of WordPress. It needs to be more user friendly and enable more user friendly ways to share post directly to social media platforms.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Totally agree with everything you’ve said. I also wish there was a way to see everyone’s posts more frequently. I mean I use the reader, but for some reason, only the big ones (Time, Thought Catalog, etc.) seem to appear first.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes that’s one of my biggest issues with WordPress right now. Hopefully in the near future they will have a big overhaul of changes especially with the WordPress app because with the way technology is set up cell phones are more than likely the primary use of exchange of information. Once phones implement a USB type drive which I hope one day lol soon in about 10 years lol more so android , laptops will only be used as an extension of the phone and not the other way around.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Social media is so essential to authors these days but takes up a lot of time, plus you need to have some clue how to use them effectively. This blog was very helpful because I’m still trying to figure out how to use blogging effectively. I’m a science fiction author so am trying to attract people who are interested in that or science but haven’t had much luck. Maybe it’s those articles on nuclear physics I’ve posted. LOL! I’m all over the place with my blogs and still trying to figure out what will work.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lol yes it really can take a lot of time especially if you’re unsure of what to do. I keep promising to post a social media info graphic I saved on Pinterest…I’ll add it to my to-do list for real this time. And yes please no nuclear physics lol

      Like

  6. Really? Grey’s Anatomy is so excellent!

    I love this list and am learning how to use Twitter more effectively. One thing I struggle with is quality vs. quantity of blog relationships. Right now I tend toward quality. I’d rather have great relationships with 10 bloggers than passing relationships with 100, but is that the right perspective given my hope to be a published novelist someday? I don’t know, but in general that’s how my relationships tend to be. I’m not sure if I should/could change that. I’m also running an unintended experiment on what happens to both quantity and quality blog relationships when you take a hiatus. I’ll let you know how that works out…

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Well, I missed you while you were gone so I’d say at least one blogging relationship didn’t suffer. I do understand what you mean though. I think you can still offer quality, just not to the same people every day. So if you engage thoughtfully with 10 different bloggers each time, then I think it’s okay. Cause yeah, everything I’ve read about having an author platform leans towards building engagement. BUT I do realize it’s difficult with a FT job. I say pick one consistent thug and stick to it. I would also add numbers don’t always translate to book readers, so be cautious of that. Most authors sell a lot of books because of loyalty and marketing.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Step 1: write book. CHECK
        Step 2: read book CHECK
        Step 3-290: edit book UGH
        Step 290-509: marketing and other stuff.

        I’m probably putting the cart before the horse here, but I’m glad you missed me. I missed you too!

        Liked by 2 people

  7. I’ve been quite an inconsistent blogger this year, especially when it comes to engaging with others. I think my biggest problem is ‘nothing time’. Time where I’m watching series or doing something that isn’t productive. This nothing-time sucks up large portions of my day but I’m going to work on being more time efficient. I check the reader about once a week but my main way of engaging with others is visiting their blog regularly. I have about seven blogs (yours included) that I have saved as bookmarks and whenever I can I visit and read as many posts as I can.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. I use WP reader only (I don’t do Twitter or any of the others). I read it every day, but follow so many blogs it is hard to keep up. When I’m busy, I might not get to some of them for a while. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  9. It’s amazing how much our processes are alike! I spend about two hours a day (not all at once though). This blog is my hobby but I work on it like it’s my job. I have specific days for certain posts, i.e., Monday Memoir, Saturday Book Reviews, etc. I also get posts in my email which is a big help. I only use the Reader if I have time. And I don’t watch television either.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I like this post! I do make a concerted effort to engage with other bloggers but you’re right – it takes time! And I don’t want to be insincere. Right now I try to carve out at least one day a week that’s devoted solely to reading other blogs. When I first researched blogging everyone said you should blog once a week or more but that isn’t the schedule for me. I keep a running list of blogging ideas in a notebook. For now I am interested in crafting content that’s so good people will look forward to reading it. Because I am anxious about feeling “tethered to” the internet, I have resisted getting a twitter account but some friends are encouraging me to get one….

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks Leslie! I’ve found that there’s no right amount of time for a blogger to maintain his or her blog, but there does seem to be a level of engagement that supports the blogosphere in general, if that makes sense. So for example, I know that when I click on your post, it’s going to be AMAZING, whether it’s every two weeks or once a month, but I also know that you’ll comment every now and then and that helps me to remember who you are as a blogger (well, that and the sardine story). Hope this makes sense lol

      Like

  11. Great advice! Some I do regularly but I saw one here that I could get better at. I e been slipping since returning to work. Finding the balance has been a challenge. But I absolutely love my community with my blogging buddies. Just like any relationship; you only get out of it what you put in!😊

    Liked by 3 people

  12. p.s. I hope that didn’t imply I ‘like’ every post I read- no, not into that. Also, if a blogger posts daily or multiple times a day, even if they are great- I am unlikely to read everything they post (especially for the multi-daily’s) because life is short!

    I post occasionally (average 1-2 times a week) but engage daily.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Same here. Even if they’re one of my favorite bloggers, I’m only going to read one post a day. And if they post three or four posts a day, I’ll likely not follow them via email. I feel overwhelmed…

      Liked by 3 people

      1. Right. Three to four posts a day is unbelievable! I once followed someone who I think was spamming my email. I awoke to NINE HUNDRED posts! Needless to say, I stopped following.

        Liked by 1 person

    2. I hope I didn’t come off as if I just like every post, either. But I can generally find something that’s good on anyone’s blog. I’m not even sure how people post multiple times a day!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, you didn’t come across that way. I multi- posted some days while i was off work (and hence had time)- but even then it was only cause 2 challenges I do start on the same day and don’t take a huge amount of time to write a response for + also no need to take time looking for pics which ridiculously can take me longer than writing time 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I was so close to replying when I lost the comment aaaggghhhhh. Probably just as well for you cause I can now keep it short and sweet.

    I find comments to be the best way to engage- they make me go check out the commenter’s blog, respond to the comment, and build a relationship.

    I use the reader to check new posts as I find notifications too distracting, so I have zero notifications to email. I will usually pic a handful to read at least once a day and either like/comment after reading or make a mental note to come back and read the longer pieces when I have more time not only to read but to write a considered response.

    So- in reader, what makes me likely to choose from the plethora of posts?

    1. knowing a particular blogger has consistently great content (like you!) which makes them a must read, unless I am pressed for time

    2. a catchy title (yeah, I’m shallow)

    3. an enticing pic/photo (yep- shallow)

    reasons 2 and 3 reel me in, but those blogs won’t keep getting my attention unless they fulfill reason 1.

    Right, I’m going to send before I risk losing this again!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Awww thanks Mek! I read that compliment in there 😉 It’s interesting that you have zero email notifications. Sometimes I’ve visited a blog where that’s the only choice. Lately, if that’s the only choice then I will not follow cause you know, I like to follow through WordPress first before I commit to the email.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! – what I’m about to tell you will BLOW YOUR MIND. You can enter a site’s url into reader and follow there! I had to do if for one site. Only downside is no notification if they reply to your comments, but you could set up an alert for that. Tada! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Right all zen and back! You just see them in reader. If you check reader every now and then, you won’t miss them, but if you think you might have, click on their name in reader to bring up a scroll view of all their recent posts. What I find annoying is if I’ve checked reader and kinda remember what the last post I saw on there was but come back another time and scroll as far as to that post I remember…only to realise a lot later that said post has been reposted (to move up in reader) meaning I’ve missed posts of other bloggers between their repost spot and their original spot if you know what I mean- like I mistakenly miss a chunk of the reader timeline. Getting better at not falling into that trap though…

        Liked by 1 person

  14. I, too, like to return likes, comments, and follows, while still staying true to what interests me. I’ve also recently started to try to stay current with some of the blogs I follow through my e-mail, but sometimes that can be overwhelming. If I post something with a particular theme, such as from a blogging u course or daily prompt, I’ll plug that topic into the reader and read posts from three new-to-me blogs. Sometimes, this pans out to be a new blogging friendship. I don’t quite understand Twitter enough yet, but maybe I’ll get around to looking into that one day. 🙂 Great post!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I totally agree that email can be overwhelming. That’s why I’m pretty particular about who I choose to follow that way. It took me a couple of tries and then a full year of Twitter engagement to truly get it, but it’s definitely something you have to be a tad bit invested in.

      Liked by 2 people

  15. Interesting! I check the Reader feed daily for interesting blogs to read and comment on. And I also have at least 50 tags I check for blogs about topics I’m interested in, places I would like to vacation, etc. I love that feature. I learn a lot that way. Twitter connections I don’t check, although I tend to find my regular commenters’ twitter feeds. Oh, and when people follow my blog, I do go check theirs to see what it’s about. Sometimes I like what I see. Well, often – and I engage from there. Topics that put me off, or posts filled with grammatical and spelling errors, I don’t follow because that’s a pet peeve. All I all, good tips! Thanks.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. I’m the freak who’s up at 3a.m. drafting posts. Some days I’ll have five ideas so I draft them all and schedule them. That way they’re spread out. So, like the other commenter mentioned, I don’t post every day, so some days I can drop in and just read + comment on other blogs. I too look out for new readers and subscribers and make the time to give their blog and gander. Other days I just read through + reply to comments on my blog. On some days I make time to do all of these things.

    Thank you for for this list. I don’t have Twitter but these are great points that reminded me how important it is to have presence and take time to engage.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Like you, I don’t post every day. On average, I put something up once or twice a week, but I’m always reading other blogs. Like, daily. I rarely schedule post; I write when I’m inspired. The downside being that if I’m in a funky mood I don’t feel like sharing, a few weeks can pass without any updates.

      Liked by 3 people

    2. It sounds like you kind of go with the flow, but there’s still a sense of regimen in there. I say do whatever works and doesn’t make you feel as if you’re overwhelmed by something that (I think) is supposed to be the fun part of life. You don’t strike me as a Twitter person, but if you ever try, then you might like filtering and following very specific people who are aligned with your causes…if you ever try 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I kinda feel oc[d] sometimes with my blogging[and certain other things in life], so it’s nice to hear that I may be more of a go with the flow type! It is definitely fun or I couldn’t partake.

        And I have zero desire to try twitter. Or snapchat. Or Periscope. Is that weird? Am I old?

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcomed

