Four Considerations as you Publish Beyond your Blog

 

Image. ©2016 All Rights Reserved K E Garland

Do you want to publish outside of your blog? If so, then here are four things that might help as you journey down that path.

Check Publication Requirements Research the publication’s rules about previously published stories. For example, an editor loved my Gratitude article but his strict no prior publication rule meant the original, which was featured on my blog, was a no-go. He, like most editors, wanted first rights. And even after he published a revised version, I had to wait 30 days before I could share it publicly. Other places won’t consider your stories, even if they’ve only been on your personal blog. So, if you plan to write for someone else, be discerning. You might want to start saving those really great pieces for other opportunities.

Prepare for Editing This might seem like common sense. Publications have editors and editors have processes. I guess what I wasn’t 100% ready for is someone else rearranging the beloved words to which I was inextricably tied. Also, unexpected was how one publication chose to run my entire moniker, instead of my pen name. I was like what the what? But I inhaled and exhaled. The message was bigger than the byline. Another publication asked for edits that took a few hours on top of the weeks that it had already taken me to research the unfamiliar topic. But again, I revised because the point of it all was greater than the extra time it took to double-check information.

Roll with Rejection Rejection is a huge part of writing. Although I’ve secured a few popular publications in the past, I’ve also counted twice as many rejections. And depending on where you submit, that’s what they’re called, rejections. But I don’t get caught up in them. Blogging helps with this part. Take that Breast Cancer Awareness article, for example. I was prepared with images and a publication date to post here. If the newspaper declined, then it would have been shared with each of you anyway. That’s how I roll with it. The comfort of having a blog allows me to go with the flow. No matter the outcome, I have a medium and trusted community.

Remember your Purpose What’s your purpose for writing in a public forum? My purpose is explicit. I want to use written words to promote discussion and nudge readers to think outside of societal boxes. One way to do that is to publish with bigger venues. They provide a wider audience. However, it’s super easy to get caught up in accumulating bylines. That’s not my overall goal. Reminding yourself of your specific purpose can keep you grounded and also connected to the larger objective.

Hope these help as you navigate the public writing terrain. Have you published beyond your blog? What else would you add?

49 thoughts on “Four Considerations as you Publish Beyond your Blog

  1. I’m glad I read this now. I want to write for other websites this year to broaden my reach and to share my message of good vibes to a bigger audience. I’ve written for a few places but it wasn’t that extensive because two of them were blogs so not as much pressure and the other one was for a newspaper’s website but I knew the person running it so he didn’t really do too much to my words which was nice. So I guess you can say I’ve been spoiled so this is giving me a reality check on what to expect so thanks! lol

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You’re welcome Tunisia! I think a good place to submit is For Harriet. I’ve published there twice and I’m pretty sure Tikeetha (do you follow her) has published with them too. It’s a nice place to get a feel for what it’s like when someone else looks at your work and doesn’t LOVE it like you do lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the tip and yup I follow Tikeetha. One of my other faves! I was going to submit for Blavity but I got to double check their contract. It sounded crazy the last time I looked through it which totally turned me off. I also have a whole list of places. I just have to sit down, get to writing and get to submitting!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the advice, Dr. Garland!

    A few months back, I was trying to publish my Masters thesis to an ethnographic journal – and the editor ripped it to shreds. It was very disheartening. I am realizing that the project is something I should be working on for a dissertation in the future. Sometimes I fear that with academic journals, there is a lot of gatekeeping and politics that we need to take into account.

    I have been published in a less “academic” outlet -Truthout. The editorial process was relatively easy: all I did was submit my manuscript in accordance to their guidelines, they responded a couple of weeks later with a few edits, I made them, and they published it on their site.

    I hope you have a very Happy Thanksgiving! =D

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You and yours eating yet Darryl??? Here are my very brief tips for publishing with a Masters in academic journals: (1) publish with someone else who has entry. I used to publish with my students and give them first author. I knew how to write for the audience and they usually had more contemporary ideas; (2) try publishing in smaller, yet well-established journals. Sometimes those can be found with state organizations or university promoted journals. For example, I’ve published in the Florida Council of Teachers of English journal which is a smaller version of the national organization; (3) don’t publish content on your blog, if you think you will ever want to publish it for an academic audience. There’s something called self-plagiarism and that’s a part of it. Aight I’m off to enjoy some food sir. Hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you so much Dr. Garland! I appreciate you taking the time to give me this advice. I find that these ideas are in short circuit and are sort of assumed (heavily privileged white folks typically know more about them).

        I have an MA in Sociology & Anthropology. I have been trying to publish a couple of pieces with a professor, with him as first author. But he just moved to another school in another state so they have been put on the backburner. I am considering just writing pieces solo for, as you advise, smaller journals. I will do some research on them, and I will try to save the less academic material for the blog as well.

        Me and my folks are not eating yet! I am drooling smelling all the food! Enjoy yours and have a Happy Thanksgiving! !

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have never pubblished on magazines, I’ve never written articles for magazines, so what you’re talking about is unfamiliar to me.
    Though some things are true even for someone who – like me – publishes stories.

    The most familiar thing is rejection. Ehhhhh…
    It’s hard to take, no matter how many times it has happened before. But I learned that every rejection has a reason and if you look very hard, most of the time you can see it, and this will help you become a better writer.

    Thanks so much for sharing this. It’s a great article 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great points, Katherin! My blog is my first brave move with regard to writing. I have recently begun two manuscripts — one I will self-publish, and the other I will submit to Christian publishing houses that take submissions w/out having an agent. I hear (and have read) that most publishing houses expect that you’ll secure a literary agent. Do you know anything about this?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you Kathy for sharing this. Very helpful. I would love to have something published. My problem is I have no idea where my writing style would be used. I don’t even know where to look to find my genre. You inspire me though 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are welcomed

